The Great Treehouse War

Hardcover
Author: Lisa Graff
Publish Date: May 2017
Pages: 304
This book will publish May 2017.
It will ship as soon as stock is available.
Price: $16.99
 

Details

Dimensions: 8.25 in. tall, 5.5 in. wide, 0.75 in. thick
Publisher: Philomel
ISBN: 0399175008

Book Overview

Kids vs. parents An epic treehouse sleepover An awesome group of friends An exciting new book from National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff.
Winnie's last day of fourth grade ended with a pretty life-changing surprise. That was the day Winnie s parents got divorced, the day they decided that Winnie would live three days a week with each of them and spend Wednesdays by herself in a treehouse smack between their houses, to divide her time perfectly evenly between them. It was the day Winnie s seed of frustration with her parents was planted, a seed that grew and grew until it felt like it was as big as a tree itself.
By the end of fifth grade, Winnie decides that the only way to change things is to barricade herself in her treehouse until her parents come to their senses and her friends decide to join her. It s kids versus grown-ups, and no one wants to back down first. But with ten kids in one treehouse, all with their own demands, Winnie discovers that things can get pretty complicated pretty fast Even if they are having the most epic slumber party ever.
In the newest novel by beloved National Book Award finalist Lisa Graff, kids have turned the tables on their parents, and all the rules have been tossed out the window. But does Winnie have what it takes to hold her ground and keep everyone happy?
This story, with a pitch-perfect middle grade voice and zany yet poignant situation, is perfect for fans of Sharon Creech, Louis Sachar, and Jack Gantos.
Praise for Lisa Graff's novels:
Lost in the Sun
*"Graff writes with stunning insight and] consistently demonstrates why character-driven novels can live from generation to generation." Kirkus Reviews*STARRED REVIEW*
*"Weighty matters deftly handled with humor and grace will give this book wide appeal." School Library Journal*STARRED REVIEW*
*"Characterization is thoughtful." BCCB*STARRED REVIEW*
"This is a novel that speaks powerfully, honestly, almost shockingly about our human pain and our human redemption. This book will change you." Gary Schmidt, author ofThe Wednesday Wars

"Lisa Graff crafts a compelling story about a boy touched with tragedy and the world of people he cares about. And like all the best stories, it ends at a new beginning." Richard Peck, author ofA Year Down Yonder
Absolutely Almost

* "A perfect book to share with struggling readers."--Booklist, *STARRED REVIEW*
* "Achingly superb, Albie s story shines."--Kirkus Reviews, *STARRED REVIEW*
* "Graff s...gentle story invokes evergreen themes of coming to appreciate one s strengths (and weaknesses), and stands out for its thoughtful, moving portrait of a boy who learns to keep moving forward, taking on the world at his own speed."--Publishers Weekly, *STARRED REVIEW*
"Lately the patrons of my school library have been asking, Do you have any books likeWonderby R.J. Palacio? and now I have the perfect offering."--BookPage
A Clatter of Jars:
"Graff is a master of the magical realism genre, and this offering is worthy of a spot in any middle grade collection." School Library Journal

A Tangle of Knots

Lisa Graff has created a beautiful world of deliciously interconnected stories that draw you in. Abby West, Entertainment Weekly, A-
* Subtle and intricate, rich with humor and insight, this quietly magical adventure delights. Kirkus Reviews *STARRED REVIEW*
* Combining the literary sensibility of E.B. White with the insouciance of Louis Sachar, Graff has written a tangle that should satisfy readers for years to come. Booklist*STARRED REVIEW*"

Write a Review

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.