Meet Me Here

Hardcover
Author: Bryan Bliss
Publish Date: May 2016
Pages: 272
Price: $17.99
 

Details

Dimensions: 8.5 in. tall, 5.8 in. wide, 0.9 in. thick
Publisher: Greenwillow
ISBN: 0062275380

Book Overview

In a single night graduation night Thomas has to decide: do what everyone has always expected of him, or forge an entirely new path? Bryan Bliss s absorbing examination of one boy struggling with expectations and realities will appeal to readers of Sara Zarr and Chris Crutcher.

Thomas is supposed to leave for the Army in the morning. His father was Army. His brother, Jake, is Army is a hero, even, with the medals to prove it. Everyone expects Thomas to follow in that fine tradition. But Jake came back from overseas a completely different person, and that has shaken Thomas s certainty about his own future. And so when his long-estranged friend Mallory suggests one last night of adventure, Thomas takes her up on the distraction. Over the course of this single night, Thomas will lose, find, resolve, doubt, drive, explore, and leap off a bridge. He ll also face the truth of his brother s post-traumatic stress disorder and of his own courage. In Bryan Bliss s deft hands, graduation night becomes a night to find yourself, to find each other, to find a path, and to know that you always have a place and people to come back to."

Reviews

Staff Review: Meet Me Here
“The United States Army has obviously lowered their standards,” he says to the group. They all laugh. Most of them are going to college; none of their parents want them anywhere near the army, even if the chance of active duty is remote. They don’t want heroes, just happiness.” This novel is complicated, the plot awful. The entire novel takes place on the night of High School graduation. The char...
Read full book review

Write a Review

  • This field is for validation purposes and should be left unchanged.